2021 Superintendent of the Year
Share |

2021 Colorado Superintendent of the Year Award and Nomination Information 





Effectively leading a school district demands a unique combination of skills and talent. Superintendents play a critical role in helping to ensure the overall success and climate of a district, and communities look to them to share their expertise and vision for the students and families the district serves.

CASE loves the opportunity to recognize and celebrate outstanding leaders. With that in mind, we hope you'll consider nominating an exceptional superintendent for the 2021 American Association of School Administrators (AASA) Superintendent of the Year for Colorado. Our Colorado winner will automatically become eligible for next year's national award.

AASA recently announced the opening of their 2021 program throughout the United States. Please click here for information about award eligibility and criteria, FAQ, past honoree information, and more. In Colorado we follow the process outlined by AASA and the final selection is made by a panel of previous Superintendent of the Year award winners, as well as other superintendent peers, to assure a geographic and district size balance.

For your convenience, the nomination form will be completed online through the AASA website. Please click on the button below to access the award webpage, register as a nominator, and complete the nomination form. The deadline to nominate a Colorado superintendent is Friday, October 2, 2020.


The AASA website link in the paragraph above includes detailed information about how to complete a nomination and will walk you through that process. Because AASA oversees and facilitates this award, nominations must be submitted through their website and cannot be accepted by CASE.

If you have any questions about the 2021 Colorado Superintendent of the Year award process and timeline, please don't hesitate to contact Bret Miles at bmiles@co-case.org or (303) 762-8762.

Thank you for your consideration and involvement in CASE!

2020 Colorado Superintendent of the Year


Pamela Swanson, 2020 Colorado Superintendent of the Year

Westminster School District 



We are proud of all of the previous Colorado Superintendent of the Year honorees and happy to share a list of past recipients.

 Year  Recipient  District
 2020  Pamela Swanson  Westminster
 2019  Rico Munn  Aurora
 2018  Walt Cooper  Cheyenne Mountain
 2017  Harry Bull  Cherry Creek 5
 2016  Bruce Messinger  Boulder Valley
 2015  Brian Ewert  Englewood
 2014  George Welsh  Center
 2013  Sandra Smyser  Eagle
 2012  Charlotte Ciancio  Mapleton
 2011  John Barry  Aurora Public Schools
 2010  Cindy Stevenson  Jefferson County
 2009  Tim Mills  Mesa County Valley
 2008  Mary Rubadeau  Telluride
 2007  Randy Zila  St. Vrain Valley District
 2006  Rod Blunck  Elizabeth
 2005  Monte Moses  Cherry Creek 
 2004  Kenneth Vedra  Academy 20
 2003  Robert Rael  Sierra Grande
 2002  Dale Gasser  Fountain/Ft. Carson
 2001  Jane Hammond  Jefferson County
 2000  Don Saul  Thompson District R2-J
 1999  Thomas M. Alby  Pueblo District 70
 1998  Peg Portscheller  Lake County District R1
 1997  Roger Driver  St. Vrain Valley District
 1996  Michael Massarotti  Westminster
 1995  David L. Hartenbach  Adams/Arapahoe District 28
 1994  Jose Thomas Maes  Adams County District 1
 1993  Kenneth Burnley  Colorado Springs District 11
 1992  James R. McCabe  Lake County District R1
 1991  Roscoe L. Davidson  Englewood
 1990  Harlan Else  Cheyenne Mountain
 1989  James Ennis Mitchell  Adams District 12
 1988  Robert D. Tschirki  Littleton