About Us
Share |

About Us

Our Mission

The mission of the Colorado Association of School Executives is to empower Colorado education leaders through advocacy, professional learning, and networking to deliver on the promise of public education.

Established in 1969, CASE serves as the dynamic voice for more than 2,400 public school administrators from nearly all of Colorado's 178 school districts. 


Our Leadership

CASE is governed by a 24-member Coordinating Council. The Coordinating Council consists of three representatives from each of CASE’s seven departments, as well as the CASE President, President-elect, and Past President.

To learn more about how CASE is governed, please click here.

CASE History

The Colorado Association of School Executives (CASE) was born by fiat. That fiat was the National Education Association’s decision, supported by the Colorado Education Association (CEA), to take on the complexion of a union, which very effectively eliminated school executives, as professionals, from its ranks.

Learn More

Colorado was one of the early groups to see the long-range implications of the situation and, during the spring and summer of 1969, an administrator-board member of CEA, John Stuart, led the exodus from CEA. He invited all school executives of a like mind to join him in the organization of a separate administrator association. About 250 prospective members attended the first annual convention of CASE at Hinkley High School in Aurora in the fall of 1969. At that meeting John Stuart was elected president and Bill Hinkley secretary. Individuals who served on the first board of directors for CASE were John G. Stuart, Jack Messervy, Malcomb Drake, William C. Hinkley, Carl Zeiger, Howard Cloud, Harold Dunning, James Filke, and Gerald Ellis.* A constitution was adopted, and the association was born.

By the summer of 1970, it became apparent practicing school executives could not meet the increasing demands of the organization on a volunteer basis. A full-time effort was needed. Colbert Cushing, who had retired as a CEA staff member, agreed to take on the task until a full-time executive secretary could be found.

One of the first tasks facing Cushing was the need to convince CASE membership that, rather than being “one happy family,” the association should be structured as an umbrella organization – identifiable departments with their own programs, activities, and structures, but operating within the identified structure of the association. Five departments were identified and an overall Board of Directors (Coordinating Council) was established. One of the important reasons for the departmental approach was to attract administrator members from CEA. CASE, with its Coordinating Council, its commitment to departmental sanctity, and its plan to rotate leadership among all departments proved attractive.

On January 5, 1971, Arly Burch joined the association as the first salaried executive secretary. Art Ludka became the associate director in 1973 to augment the leadership structure of the association. Under their enthusiastic leadership and the assistance of a dedicated staff, membership grew to over 1,600 school executives representing nearly 75 percent of the eligible school administrators in Colorado.

In September 1971, the elementary principals (DESP, now known as CAESP) affiliated with CASE, and in 1972, the secondary school principals (CASSP) joined the umbrella. With the superintendents and other districtwide administrators already in CASE, it was only a matter of time until the educational specialists and the business officials established their own department structures (DES and DBO).

In 1996, the DES department was renamed the Colorado Association of Educational Specialists (CAES), and school personnel administrators (CASPA) joined CASE that year. In 1998 the Department of General Administrators was renamed the Colorado Association of Superintendents and Senior Administrators (CASSA). Four years later, in 2002, educational technology administrators formed a seventh department under the umbrella of CASE named the Colorado Association of Leaders in Educational Technology (CALET).

Over the years, the association’s image has emerged as a solid, effective, and viable organization. CASE is valued by its members for high-quality professional development, advocacy for the profession and public education, legal assistance, and networking opportunities. In recounting CASE’s history, it also is appropriate to acknowledge the support of the Colorado Association of School Boards (CASB). In recent years CASE has expanded its influence through collaborative partnerships with a variety of education-related organizations including CASB and the Colorado Education Association.

CASE Staff

CASE Executive Director
CASE Director of Communications and Strategic Partners
CASE Director of Professional Learning
CASE Director of Finance
CASE Director of Events and Operations
CASE Membership and Strategic Partners Manager
CASE Registration Manager
CASE Communications and Marketing Manager

2020-21 CASE Coordinating Council

Monica Johnson
CASE President, Strasburg 31J
Jill Lliteras
CASE President-elect, St. Vrain Valley School District
Ty Valentine
CASE Past President, St. Vrain Valley School District
Lori Cooper
CAES President, Fountain Fort Carson SD8
Brigitte Mutter
CAES President-elect, Boulder Valley School District
Natasha Straayer
CAES Past President, Douglas County Schools
Patrick Schumaker
CAESP President, Chinook Trail Elementary School
Heather Woodward
CAESP President-elect, Pine Ridge Elementary School
Eric Olsen
CAESP Past President, Red Hill Elementary School
Trevor Timmons
CALET President, Weld RE-4
Shaun Kohl
CALET President-elect, Canon City District Fremont RE-1
Jason Koenig
CALET Past President, Cherry Creek District
Mike Jones
CASPA President, Littleton 6
Michael Clow
CASPA President-elect, Brighton 27
Michael Boyer
CASPA Past President, Jeffco Public Schools
Glenn McClain
CASSA President, Platte Valley RE-7
Greg Rabenhorst
CASSA President-elect, Keenesberg RE-3(J)
Brenda Krage
CASSA Past President, Fremont RE-2
Bill Dallas
CASSP President, Fountain Middle School
Moira Coogan
CASSP President-elect, DCIS Montebello
Andy Hanks
CASSP Past President, Gunnison High School
Shelley Becker
DBO President, Harrison District 2
Scott Smith
DBO President-elect, Cherry Creek 5
Donna Villamor
DBO Past President, Littleton Public Schools



Pamela Swanson, 2020 Colorado Superintendent of the Year

Westminster School District 


Chuck Puga, 2020 Colorado High School Principal of the Year

Smoky Hill High School, Cherry Creek School District


Dr. William Dallas, Colorado Middle Level Principal of the Year

Fountain Middle School, Fountain-Fort Carson School District


Jill Lliteras, 2020 Colorado National Distinguished Elementary Principal of the Year 

Prairie Ridge Elementary School, St. Vrain Valley School District


Waren Morrow, 2020 Colorado Assistant Principal of the Year for Secondary Schools

Lesher Middle School, Poudre School District 


Rochelle Williams, 2020 Colorado Outstanding Assistant Elementary Principal of the Year for Colorado

Abrams Elementary School, Fountain-Fort Carson School District 


2020 CoSN Volunteer Hall of Fame (to be named)


Katy Anthes, 2020 CASEY Award

Colorado Commissioner of Education